1 3 mins 12 yrs

The BBC has released details of the first three episodes of Doctor Who Series 7.

Revealed at San Diego Comic-Con the episode titles are as follows:

7.1. Asylum Of The Daleks
7.2. Dinosaurs On A Spaceship
7.3. A Town Called Mercy

Episode two: ‘Dinosaurs On A Spaceship’, will see The Doctor take on one of his biggest monsters to so far that required one of the largest sets to date to house the prehistoric creatures.

Starring Matt Smith as the Doctor, Karen Gillan as Amy and Arthur Darvill as Rory, the episode will also co-star Mark Williams from the Fast Show as Rory’s dad, Brian, and Rupert Graves from Sherlock. ‘Dinosaurs On A Spaceship’ was written by Chris Chibnall and directed by Saul Metzstein.

The BBC also confirmed that episode three, filmed on location in Spain, will be a western entitled ‘A Town Called Mercy’. Written by Toby Whithouse and again directed by Saul Metzstein, the episode co-stars Adrian Scarborough and Ben Browder.

Steven Moffat, Head Writer and Executive Producer, said: “Dinosaurs On A Spaceship – what more do you need! The Doctor will come face to face with some of the most monstrous creatures evolution has ever produced, on some of the most monstrous sets we’ve ever built. We took one look at Chris Chibnall’s brilliant script and said to ourselves ‘We’re going to need a bigger corridor’.

“And Toby Whithouse’s A Town Called Mercy takes us into a genre Doctor Who hasn’t attempted since the Sixties – it’s a full blooded western. We knew from the start we need some serious location shooting for this one, and given the most iconic American setting imaginable, there was only one place to go – Spain.”

Both episodes were shot earlier this year, with ‘Dinosaurs On A Spaceship’ filmed in Cardiff.

Doctor Who returns in the Autumn (rumoured to be August) with a run of five episodes followed by the Christmas special and a further eight episodes in 2013.

One thought on “BBC Announces Doctor Who Episode Details

Comments are closed.