0 3 mins 8 yrs

‘Misfits’ Robert Sheehan joins Sofie Gråbøl in artic thriller


Sky Atlantic has announced an all star cast for the second series of arctic drama Fortitude.

The second series will Sofie Gråbøl (The Killing), Richard Dormer (Game of Thrones), Luke Treadaway (Clash of the Titans), Darren Boyd (Lucky Man), Björn Hlynur Haraldsson (Jar City), Mia Jexen (Happiness), Alexandra Moen (Strike Back), Verónica Echegui (The Cold Light of Day), Sienna Guillory (Lucky Man) and Ramon Tikaram (Jupiter Ascending), reprise their roles.

They will be joined by new cast members, featuring, Dennis Quaid (Far From Heaven), Parminder Nagra (ER), Michelle Fairley(Game of Thrones), Robert Sheehan (Misfits), and Ken Stott (The Missing).

Creator and writer Simon Donald has penned a new story, that will see the Arctic town of Fortitude gripped by explosive events and chilling plot twists when a fresh murder rocks the community and plunges it into turmoil. And out in the stunning icy wilderness, nature is growing even more unpredictable, deadly and dangerous.

Fortitude is co-produced by Fifty Fathoms, Tiger Aspect and Pivot.

Simon Donald, said: “Sky and Pivot are letting me return to the Arctic with Fortitude II. Given what happened in our story previously this may be somewhat reckless. But with Dennis Quaid, Michelle Fairley, Ken Stott, Parminder Nagra and Robert Sheehan to play with – somewhat reckless should get thrillingly intense.”

Belisa Balaban, Executive Vice President of Original Programming, Pivot, said: “We are thrilled to be working with Sky once again on this bold Arctic thriller, and to welcome these extraordinary actors into the cozy, twisted world of Fortitude. The second season promises another unexpected journey into this melting glacial landscape.”

Fortitude Series 2 has begun principal photography in London and will broadcast on Sky Atlantic in the UK and simultaneously across Sky territories in late 2016.