0 2 mins 9 yrs

Paul Abbott’s police procedural returning to C4

No Offence

Channel 4 has recommissioned Paul Abbott’s critically-acclaimed police drama No Offence for a second series of eight episodes.

Reprising their roles will be Joanna Scanlan as no-nonsense DI Vivienne Deering, Elaine Cassidy as DC Dinah Kowalska and Alexandra Roach as DS Joy Freers.

Also returning will be Friday Street regulars, Will Mellor, Paul Ritter, Colin Salmon, Ste Johnston, Tom Varey, Neet Mohan, Saira Choudhry and Charlie May-Clark.

The new series will see the team investigating a whole new case, involving warring crime families and will see Deering come up against her toughest adversary yet – a woman who is pretty much her mirror image, in her brains, ingenuity and determination, except she’s on the other side of the law.

Paul Abbott will continue to write on the series at his Writers’ Studio alongside Paul Tomalin, Mark Greig and Jimmy Dowdall.

Piers Wenger, Channel 4 Head of Drama says: “ No Offence is not just unlike any other cop show on TV, it’s unlike any other show on TV and we are delighted to announce its return next year. Paul and the cast have set the bar high in terms of thrills, spills and belly laughs this year and we can’t wait to see where they go in series two.”

Produced by AbbottVision, the second series will begin filming in Manchester in early 2016.

The No Offence series one finale airs on Channel tonight (Tuesday 23rd June) at 9pm.