0 5 mins 10 yrs

‘Gravity’ tops the 2014 BAFTA Film Awards

Director Steve McQueen’s 12 Years A Slave Best Film Award


The winners of the 67th BAFTA Film Awards 2014 have been announced at London’s Royal Opera House tonight [16th February], with the ceremony, hosted by Stephen Fry broadcast shortly after on BBC One.

The winners in full are:

Adapted Screenplay

12 Years A Slave

Behind The Candelabra

Captain Phillips

Philomena – WINNER

The Wolf Of Wall Street

Animated Film

Frozen – WINNER

Despicable Me 2

Monsters University


12 Years A SlaveWINNER

American Hustle

Captain Phillips



Outstanding British Film

Gravity – WINNER

Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom



Saving Mr. Banks

The Selfish Giant

Leading Actor

Bruce Dern – Nebraska

Chiwetel Ejiofor – 12 Years a SlaveWINNER

Christian Bale – American Hustle

Tom Hanks – Captain Phillips

Leonardo DiCaprio – The Wolf of Wall Street

Leading Actress

Amy Adams – American Hustle

Cate Blanchett – Blue JasmineWINNER

Emma Thompson – Saving Mr. Banks

Judi Dench – Philomena

Sandra Bullock – Gravity

Supporting Actor

Barkhad Abdi – Captain Phillips – WINNER 

Bradley Cooper – American Hustle

Daniel Brühl – Rush

Matt Damon – Behind the Candelabra

Michael Fassbender – 12 Years a Slave

Supporting Actress

Jennifer Lawrence – American Hustle – WINNER

Julia Roberts – August: Osage County

Lupita Nyong’o – 12 Years a Slave

Oprah Winfrey – The Butler

Sally Hawkins – Blue Jasmine

British Short Animation

Sleeping With The Fishes – WINNER

Everything I Can See From Here

I Am Tom Moody

British Short Film

Room 8 – WINNER

Island Queen

Keeping Up With The Joneses

Orbit Ever After

Sea View

Film not in the English Language

The Act Of Killing

Blue Is The Warmest Colour

The Great BeautyWINNER

Metro Manila



12 Years A Slave

Captain Phillips

Gravity – WINNER

Inside Llewyn Davis


Director Alfonso Cuaron and David Heyman’s ‘Gravity’ was the big winner

Costume Design

The Great Gatsby – Catherine Martin – WINNER

American Hustle – Michael Wilkinson

Behind The Candelabra – Ellen Mirojnick

The Invisible Woman – Michael O’Connor

Saving Mr. Banks – Daniel Orlandi


Steve McQueen – 12 Years A Slave

David O. Russell – American Hustle

Paul Greengrass – Captain Phillips

Alfonso Cuarón – GravityWINNER

Martin Scorsese – The Wolf Of Wall Street


The Act Of Killing – WINNER 

The Armstrong Lie


Tim’s Vermeer

We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks

EE Rising Star

Dane DeHaan

George MacKay

Lupita Nyong’o

Will Poulter – WINNER

Léa Seydoux


Rush – Dan Hanley, Mike Hill – WINNER 

12 Years A Slave – Joe Walker

Captain Phillips – Christopher Rouse

Gravity – Alfonso Cuarón, Mark Sanger

The Wolf Of Wall Street – Thelma Schoonmaker


Dame Helen Mirren – WINNER

Make-Up And Hair

American Hustle – Evelyne Noraz, Lori McCoy-Bell, Kathrine Gordon – WINNER

Behind The Candelabra – Kate Biscoe, Marie Larkin

The Butler – Debra Denson, Candace Neal, Robert Stevenson, Matthew Mungle

The Great Gatsby – Maurizio Silvi, Kerry Warn

The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug – Peter Swords King, Richard Taylor, Rick Findlater

Original Film Music

Gravity – Steven Price – WINNER

12 Years A Slave – Hans Zimmer

The Book Thief – John Williams

Captain Phillips – Henry Jackman

Saving Mr. Banks – Thomas Newman

Original Screenplay

American Hustle – WINNER 

Blue Jasmine


Inside Llewyn Davis


Outstanding British Contribution to Cinema

Peter Greenaway – WINNER

Outstanding Debut By A British Writer, Director or Producer

Kieran Evans – Kelly + Victor – WINNER

Colin Carberry, Glenn Patterson – Good Vibrations

Kelly Marcel – Saving Mr. Banks

Paul Wright, Polly Stokes – For Those in Peril

Scott Graham – Shell

Production Design

The Great Gatsby – WINNER 

12 Years A Slave

American Hustle

Behind The Candelabra



Gravity – WINNER

All Is Lost

Captain Phillips

Inside Llewyn Davis


Special Visual Effects


The Hobbit: The Desolation Of Smaug

Iron Man 3

Pacific Rim

Star Trek Into Darkness